Join us at the 2017 Annual Event in Denver as we honor the winners of our Connect, Enrich, Empower and Sustain Awards.


Bette Case: CONNECT Award

Bette served as DCE at Derry Presbyterian in Hershey, PA, First Presbyterian in Fairborn, OH, Pleasant Grove Presbyterian in Youngstown, OH and Lakewood Presbyterian in Lakewood, OH. She currently serves on the Presbytery of the Western Reserve Committee on Leadership, convenes the presbytery’s Educator Roundtable, and has served as the presbytery registrar for Youth Triennium since 2009. Bette is in her second term as President of GLAPCE. Read more about this outstanding educator here:  Bette Case

2016-laurie-farquharsonLaurie Farquharson: ENRICH – Educator of the Year Award

Laurie has served for 27 years as the Director of Christian Education at Wekiva Presbyterian Church in Longwood, Florida. In Central Florida Presbytery, she is currently the Chairperson of the Leadership Development Committee, on the Presbytery Council, and is a reader for ordination exams.  An active member of APCE, she serves on the Administrative Ministry Team. Read more about this outstanding educator here: Laurie Farquharson

2016-ruth-cole-burcaw-1-rcbRuth Cole Burcaw: EMPOWER Award

Ruth’s call to work for the Moravian Church uses skills developed over nearly 30 years in the public, private and non-profit sectors. Since 2012, she has served as Executive Director of Cooperative Ministries for the Moravian Church, Southern Province, a denominational agency that engages and supports congregations and regional conferences of churches. Ruth co-creates innovative ministries in Moravian identity, education, communication, leadership and congregational development. Read more about this outstanding educator here: Ruth Cole Burcaw

2016-anne_wilson-lifetimeAnne Wilson: SUSTAIN – Life Achievement Award

Anne has served as a church educator at Memorial Drive, St. Philip, and Northwoods Presbyterian Churches in Houston. Current service to the larger church for her includes being a member of the Board of Trustees of the Texas Presbyterian Foundation and Johnson C. Smith Theological Seminary; a member of the Synod of the Sun Permanent Judicial Commission; and the treasurer for the South Central region of Association of Presbyterian Church Educators (SCRAPCE). Her service to APCE and to educational ministry in the PC(USA) has impacted countless children, young people, adults and educators. Read more about this outstanding educator here: Anne Wilson

Join us at the Annual Event in Denver to celebrate the achievements of these leaders in Christian Education!